Don’t let anyone fool you. Five days of straight Cardio,
even at the lower levels I’m doing it now is tough…five days of lifting? Walk
in the park comparatively and it’s not the body taxing so much as it is the
mental part. It’s very difficult to summon motivation for that kind of thing if
you’re not so moved.
As it was, I didn’t feel mentally recovered enough after my
return from the business trip (I really wanted some goddamn relaxing time,
which was not very forthcoming and I truly doubt I will be motivated to do 5
straight nights during those trips again – the last one was a “game time”
decision, basically and I waffled back and forth for a couple hours before
grudgingly going), so I didn’t feel rested, though I’m sure my body physically
had recovered sufficiently.
So, rather than hitting the Air Dyne, as I had in mind and
was preparing to do, I told myself this comforting little vague half-truth that
with my son and wife both sick (true) and with a slight little cough I come
across here and there (also true) that I should take another night off so I
didn’t succumb to exhaustion or consumption or TB or whatever else I wanted to
dream up (maybe true, but dubious). This allowed me to fuck around online and
fritter enough time for it to be too late and then putz around reading part of
a paperback I took for the flight, which really sealed the deal.
Anyway, back in the saddle tonight...
Workout: Cardio
Equipment Used: Schwinn Air Dyne
Duration: ~8 miles/~43 minutes
Driver: Mechanism: Inspired Horrific
Calories: unknown
Quality Level: N/A A bit casual today...getting used to the saddle again. I definitely did not have a lot of umph today, probably because it was one of those busy days, days which are good because you get a lot done, but in doing so, the downside is that something is sacrificed...in this case, my lunch. I was also battling some minor Left Knee issues and Legs didn't have a whole lot tonight, either. Air was fine throughout, though and oddly, the best rhythm I had was when I injected some minor sprinting into things, to test my repair job on the speedometer...
Observations/Intel: I'm going to shoot for HIIT the next couple of workouts...knee permitting. I had a significant problem with the Air Dyne not registering the mileage and not having a way to measure things really fucks me up. I was able to repair, but it was kind of annoying and took a little time off the workout. I was really worried that the Air Dyne had finally lost that, which registers the thing as worthless to me (I don't do this shit for pleasure) and I'd have to buy another...all of that adds up to a major sort of distraction...tomorrow should be better.